--------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Book Review: Ivy and the Meanstalk by Dawn Lairamore

 Posted as part of Tween Tuesday, hosted by GreenBeanTeenQueen.
Ivy and the Meanstalk by Dawn Lairamore
Publisher: Holiday House
Publication date: October 2011
Pages: 221
Source: Review copy provided by publicist
For: Review
Series: Sequel to Ivy's Ever After



Princess Ivy and her dragon friend Elridge seem to be settling down after saving Ivy's kingdom.  But not for long.  When a giant beanstalk disrupts Ivy's fairy godmother's wedding, Ivy and Elridge are pulled into another new adventure.  This time, they must recover a stolen harp to help an angry insomniac giantess before it is too late for the kingdom.  Can they convince the greedy king who has it to help them out?

Things I Liked:
This was another fun adventure for Princess Ivy and her faithful dragon friend Elridge.  I loved the way the Jack and the Beanstalk tale is woven throughout, but has a very different perspective from the usual.  It is a fractured fairy tale at its best.  I love Ivy and the way she grows and changes over the book, but also the way she doesn't fit into the typical princess mold - and doesn't particularly care if she does.  Her zany adventures are a blast, and there is some depth and thought to the book, making it more than just fluff.

Things I Didn't Like:
These books are fun for younger MG/older elementary kids, though the end was just a little too easy (though there were some surprising difficulties as well).  Change came to some characters a bit too quickly, but fortunately not for Ivy.  Still an enjoyable read for those who might like a light twist on the typical fairy tale.

Read-alikes:
Read the first in the series, Ivy's Ever After by Dawn Lairamore
Reminded me of Jessica Day George's Dragon Slippers books

BOOK CONTENT RATINGS:
s-factor: none 

mrg-factor: none 

v-factor: none 

Overall rating: **** 


What's your favorite fractured fairy tale?

If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage

Monday, January 30, 2012

Name That Book, Episode 22

Name that Book is a biweekly (haha) game where you get to guess a book title from the photo clues.  Occasionally I offer prizes for those who guess right!

It's finally back!  I'm not sure it will be a regular biweekly thing, but I finally managed to get two Name That Book puzzles together this week.  I'm calling it the Cybils edition, since the two books are Cybils books (that's a good hint, if you don't know what they are).  Feel free to leave your guesses in the comments.

Book 1:



Book 2:


If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage

Friday, January 27, 2012

A Wrinkle in Time 50th Anniversary Blog Tour: Sharing A Wrinkle in Time

One of the best parts of reading is sharing what we read.  We form book clubs and start book blogs and become librarians in order to experience the joy of sharing our favorites.  But what I find even more fun than just blabbing on about a book I loved to a (sometimes) astonished friend/patron/stranger is something a little bit more: putting the right book at the right time into the right hands. 


A Wrinkle in Time, which is celebrating its 50th year of publication with an awesome new edition (see the features below), is such a unique book!  It has a little bit of everything and doesn't quite fit anywhere, rather like the main character Meg feels.  Part fantasy, sci-fi, religious allegory, even dystopian at times, this book has it all.  But what makes it survive the test of time are the relatable characters.  Meg, who doesn't quite fit in, who doesn't do things "right" at school, who doesn't feel comfortable in her own body.  In short, nearly every young girl or boy at some point in their life will feel like Meg. 

So why is this book not universally loved?  There are many people who did not love this book.  Even hated it.  Several of my siblings expressed loathing for this book years after having read it, admitting they remember nothing about it except that hatred.  It is an odd book, quirky, difficult to feel comfortable with.  Universal love is not what makes a book "good" or "classic" or "enjoyable."  That is why connecting just the right kind of reader with just the right kind of book at just the right time is essential. 

When children or young adults or not-so-young-adults feel like Meg, like they don't fit into their own life or their own world.  This book could remind them they have a place, that they fit somewhere in this universe.  That they are not alone.

The right readers for this book (and millions of other books) are out there waiting. It could be someone you know or someone you don't know, aching to find the right book at just the right time.  Put it in their hands.
_____________________________________

Check out the other blogs on the 50 years, 50 days, 50 blogs tour

 
A Wrinkle in Time: 50th Anniversary Commemorative Edition features:
  • Frontispiece photo*†
  • Photo scrapbook with approximately 10 photos*†
  • Manuscript pages*†
  • Letter from 1963 Caldecott winner, Ezra Jack Keats*†
  • New introduction by Katherine Paterson, US National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature†
  • New afterword by Madeleine L’Engle’s granddaughter Charlotte Voiklis including six never-before-seen photos†
  • Murry-O’Keefe family tree with new artwork†
  • Madeleine L’Engle’s Newbery acceptance speech 
* Unique to this edition                † never previously published

And check out the book trailer!
 

What kind of Wrinkle reader were you?
If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage

Thursday, January 26, 2012

Book Review: This Dark Endeavour by Kenneth Oppel

This Dark Endeavor: The Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein by Kenneth Oppel
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication date: August 2011
Pages: 304
Source: Library

For: Fun
Series: Yes, Book 1.

Viktor and Konrad are twin brothers who have shared just about everythin in life. But when Konrad becomes ill, Viktor finds that the only place he can turn is to alchemy and a dark secret hidden in his father's house. Will he be able to save Konrad before it is too late, or will he find that he has fallen into something much deeper and darker than he imagined?

Things I Liked:
[I totally wish I'd read this in 2012, so I could pair it with Frankenstein for my Classic Double Challenge.  Alas, I didn't.]  Just the concept of seeing Frankenstein as a teen delights me.  I really enjoyed the interactions of the characters, including a love triangle that didn't suck.  I especially liked seeing Viktor wonder about his motivations and the lengths he'd go to in order to save his brother.  I thought it was a pretty good backstory that fit right in with the classic book.  There was also quite a few exciting adventures and a touch of the Gothic spookiness from the original tale.  A pleasure to read. I liked Elizabeth a lot:
"I just assumed it would be Henry and me climbing the tree."
"Oh."  she nodded humbly.  "Yes.  I suppose that makes the most sense.  I can just wait at the bottom and do needlepoint by the light of the lantern-"
"Elizabeth-," I said, hearing the fire kindling in her voice.
"-or just daydream about the latest Paris fashions." p 105
Things I Didn't Like:
It definitely doesn't have the spark or the depth of ethical issues that Frankenstein does.  I guess that's what happens when you talk about what some crazy guy did before he went really crazy! 

Read-alikes:
Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
A little like Prophecy of the Sisters trilogy by Michelle Zink for the atmosphere and Gothic feel

BOOK CONTENT RATINGS:
s-factor: ! 
one or two


mrg-factor: none 
a bit of kissing, though

v-factor: -> 
some rather intense parts, a little fighting

Overall rating: **** 


What do you think of a prequel for a classic book?

If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

The Queen's Thief Week: If You Like...

Chachic of Chachic's Book Nook is celebrating one of my all-time favorite series all week long!  Be sure you go check out the awesome guest posts and other goodies (including a guest post from Megan Whalen Turner).  Ever since she announced this, I wanted to write something.  But what?  I didn't have time to reread the series, not even the books I haven't reviewed on my blog.  And what could I possibly say that hasn't been said better elsewhere?  So, I thought I'd list just a few enticements that might make you want to pick up this series if you haven't, or read it again if you have. 


If you like...

...political intrigue, you will become embroiled in the Queen's Thief series.

...complex plots, you will get caught in the intricacies of the plots in the Queen's Thief series.

...a cocky, wickedly lovable, indescribably sneaky main character thief, you will love Gen from the Queen's Thief series.

...a love story that will surprise you with its depth and impossibility, you will fall for the Queen's Thief series.

...subtlety of plot and mere hints of clues, you will devour the Queen's Thief series.

...an ending that both surprises and makes sense, you will drop your jaw for the Queen's Thief series.

...detailed, smart, layered writing, you will find it in Megan Whalen Turner's the Queen's Thief series.

...a pseudo-historical setting with mythological aspects, you will get lost in Sounis, Eddis, and Attolia from the Queen's Thief series.

So, what makes you love the Queen's Thief series?  Or what makes you want to start it?

If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage

Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Families

I'm jumping in on another Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, just in time for freebie week! I decided I'm going to talk about my favorite bookish families.  I have a soft spot for family dynamics, whether sibling or parent-child.  Growing up in a big family was so fun (and crazy) and played a huge role in making me who I am today.  Here are ten of my favorite fictional families (in no particular order):

The Beaumont family from Savvy (and Scumble) by Ingrid Law.  Oh how I love the quirky wildness of not just the immediate Beaumonts, but the whole crazy extended family.  Reminded me of my own family's hectic reunions.

The Ryves brothers in the Demon's Lexicon series by Sarah Rees Brennan.  What a sticky, interesting, realistic relationship they have.  And it just gets better with each book.  To a lesser extent, I also like the Crawfords too.  Really, this book is filled with fabulous family dynamic.

Carter and Sadie Kane from the Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan.  I just finished listening to The Throne of Fire on audio and it was absolutely hilarious!  I fell in love with the sibling banter, the growing relationship between these two.  A perfect book for brothers and sisters to both read and enjoy.

The March family (of course!) from Little Women by Louisa May Alcott.  Can any family list be complete without the Marches?  I adore the four daughters, with a soft spot in my heart for Jo, naturally.  I loved reading about the ways they understand each other and the ways they don't.  How different and yet how similar.  Definitely rang true for this girl with four sisters.  And don't forget Marmie! 

The Bennets from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.  The ultimate family of frivolous and sensible sisters (and parents).  I adore how Lizzy and Jane can understand one another so well, and still love their ridiculous younger sisters.  And the parents, I wish we had a story about them falling in love (or not falling in love as the case may be).  To a lesser extent, I also like the Dashwoods in Sense and Sensibility, though I think they are too extreme for my taste.

Kendra and Seth from the Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull.  Much like the Kanes, this brother-sister team is full of fighting and love, butting heads and working together.  There is something about brothers and sisters that makes such an interesting dynamic.  They can get along so well, but they can also fight like the dickens!  (Which, come to think of it, is the way sisters are too.)

The de Luce sisters from the Flavia de Luce books by Alan Bradley.  Oh I will never get over the antics these rivaling sisters throw at one another.  Spiteful, bitter enemies, but still managing to hide a regard for each other deep under the surface.  A realistic, if slightly scary look at sisters.

The Pevensies from the Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis.  I just loved how they all had to work together (at least in The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe) to accomplish anything.  Each one is so individual and there is a lot of envy and rivalry, but they hold fast to each other in the end. 

The princesses in Entwined by Heather Dixon.  Seriously, putting twelve princesses into a story sounds like a nightmare (not to mention real life)!  But I just fell in love with those oldest three and how unique and fun they all were.  Again, each one was important to the story, but in different ways.  It seems they all have different strengths and weaknesses.

The Weasleys from the Harry Potter books by J.K. Rowling.  Really, who doesn't love this collection of red-haired brothers and sister.  Every one of them was unique, every one of them had strengths, and I loved each of them to bits.  Nothing quite like a big family to make me feel at home!

Who are your favorite fictional families?

If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage

Monday, January 23, 2012

My Epic Youth Media Awards Fail!

I just had to note: I totally failed on this year's winners! Usually I manage to read at least one book from the Newbery or Printz winners list before the announcement. This year? Not. One. Seriously, how did this happen? In fact, pretty much the whole list of winners was a fail for me. I read (and loved) one honor book for the William C. Morris award (debut authors), The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson.  I'm hoping to fix this and I put several of the winners on hold at the library. Still, I'm feeling pretty lousy in my reading. And I admit I'm a bit sad that Okay For Now by Gary Schmidt didn't even garner an honor.  But!  There are lots of delightful books (well, I hope so, since I haven't read many) on the winners list.

Newbery winner:


Printz winner:


For a full list of the winners, check out ALA's announcement.

How did you do on your award-winning reading?
 
If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage

Book Review: Circle of Fire by Michelle Zink

Circle of Fire by Michelle Zink
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication date: August 2011
Pages: 368
Source: Library

For: Fun
Series: Prophecy of the Sisters, Book 3


*Spoilers for the first two books likely*
Lia is nearing the end of her search for the things she needs to close the gate.  All she needs now is the fourth key and the stone.  But, time is something she doesn't have.  Pursued by the Souls and constantly battling against their powers has worn her down.  Will she have the strength to withstand them and will she be able to get Alice to help her close the gate?

Things I Liked:
I was happy to finally have the conclusion to this series.  I love the Gothic historical fantasy feel to the story.  With the secret societies and the place the two sisters have in the prophecy, I couldn't stop reading the final book.  I loved especially the dynamics of Lia's relationship with her sister and with the other keys, particularly learning to forgive and trust.  I thought those were the most interesting parts of the book, though how the ancient rite would be performed was also intriguing.  Though the ending seemed inevitable, I was still interested in how she would get there.  A satisfying end to an interesting series.

"We all fall short at times, don't you think?"  she asks.  "But we forgive others their shortcomings and hope they will do the same for us."  "Perhaps.  But that's the thing; I have not forgiven their shortcomings as readily as you forgave mine.  Now..." I sigh.  "Well, now I suppose it seems unfair to expect them to extend their kindness to me." p 238
Things I Didn't Like:
I got a bit tired of the doom and end of the world feeling that Lia seemed to express at the end of every chapter.  Yes, if she fails, it's all over, but it seemed overdone and beaten to death.  Also, I was rather disappointed in how easily and neatly the end came about.  Alice's part in the book came suddenly and seemed rather unlike her character.  I admit I had a hard time believing it.  Still, a good story.


Read-alikes:

Dreamhunter by Elizabeth Knox
The Vespertine by Saundra Mitchell

BOOK CONTENT RATINGS:
s-factor: !
maybe a few

 
mrg-factor: XX
it's there, but not explicit


v-factor: none

Overall rating: ***.5 


I'm starting to think I just don't like the last book in trilogies anymore.  Maybe I just don't like endings?

If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage

Friday, January 20, 2012

Book Review: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
Publisher: Doubleday
Publication date: September 2011
Pages: 400
Source: Library
For: Fun


This book is very hard to describe, but at its center lies Le Cirque des RĂªves, the Circus of Dreams, a mystical, unusual, different kind of circus. Battling behind striped curtains and caramel apples are two magicians, Celia and Marco, locked in a battle not of their making. Will this place of dreams be a witness to their destruction or to a much different end to their battle?

Things I Liked:
This book is very, very atmospheric, and I think this is it's greatest strength, why so many people have raved about it.  The way Morgenstern writes, the strange details and the unique elements of the circus come right to life.  It is like living through a vivid and strange dream on page, never knowing exactly what will pop up next.  I really liked some of the characters, notably not Celia or Marco, but Chandresh and Poppet.  It is, to use the overused phrase, evocative.  You actually feel (and smell and taste) like you are at the Night Circus.  A truly interesting and unique book that really pops from the page to life.

Things I Didn't Like:
I was not really impressed with the epic love story.  I felt like there wasn't any development of their relationship.  They have very little page time together and yet they have this unbreakable bond of love.  I just couldn't buy it.  I also really wanted more explanation of the magic, the illusions, and what happened in the end.  It was so vague that I honestly thought I'd skipped a chapter or something.  Definitely worth the read just for the experience, though.  All that raving didn't go awry in this case.

Read-alikes:
I really don't know of anything similar, maybe Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clark a little

BOOK CONTENT RATINGS:
s-factor: !@# 

at least one f-bomb that I can remember


mrg-factor: X 
sensual, but not much action on the page

v-factor: -> 
a few incidents but the details are light

Overall rating: **** 


Can you think of anything like this?  It is very unique, I think.

If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Mini Reviews 4: Bring on the Minis!

Another set of minis today! I'm becoming really fond of this way of reviewing - it's so much shorter and easier.  Here's hoping I can say it in fewer words!


The Secret Life of Ms. Finkleman by Ben H. Winters
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication date: September 2010
Pages: 256
Source: Review copy provided by publisher
For: Review

When Bethesda Fielding decides to do her secret project on the mysterious life of boring music teacher Ms. Finkleman, she little expects to uncover what she does.  A former punk-rocker and famous mystery woman, their unassuming teacher is plunged back into the spotlight.  But the discovery is not exactly as either Bethesda or Ms. Finkleman thought it would be. 

My thoughts: This is a short, sweet, and fairly funny story about the mysterious lives of teachers - what do they do outside of school?  A story that seems to not have much depth, but pulls a few surprises before it ends.  It's something to give your MG kids who like music and wonder what their teachers do in their spare time.
-------------------------------------------------------


Slayers by C.J. Hill
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Publication date: September 2011
Pages: 384
Source: e-book from NetGalley
For: Review
Series: Probably, this is Book 1

When Tori heads to dragon camp, she does not expect to find out that there are real dragons.  A spoiled daughter of a rich senator, she is discovering the adjustment to her fellow slayers, descendents of knights specially trained to kill dragons, are not very welcoming.  She is thrust into a different world and not quite sure she wants to be there.  After all, not only are dragons real, they are vicious and might just be used to take over the world.

My thoughts:  I liked how it was more than just a dragon story.  There were interesting ethical quanderies and developing relationships and realistic interactions between teens.  It was an interesting mix of contemporary and fantasy.  Explanations of the dragon and slayer histories were somewhat vague and a bit unbelievable for me.  Even though it didn't feel like fantasy most of the time, I'm anxious to see where this newly-fantasy author takes this story. 
-------------------------------------------------------


Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication date: November 2011
Pages: 352
Source: Library
For: The Dystopia 2012 Challenge
Series: Yes, this is Book 1

Juliette hasn't touched anyone in over 200 days.  She's been stuck in a cell, slowly losing her mind, always fearing the power she holds in her hands.  But when the Reestablishment decides it wants to use her as a weapon, Juliette must make a decision - one that will have much more powerful repercussions than she can imagine.

My thoughts: I thought the book had some really interesting and unique aspects to it: a little paranormal, a bit dystopian, mashed together. The main characters were intriguing: Juliette and Warren especially. I was initially (and quite a bit throughout) thrown off by the writing style - the stream-of-consciousness feeling.  The strike-throughs, which bothered some, weren't the most difficult for me to deal with, it was the use of odd metaphors and strange turns of phrase that just struck me as off.  A few times, this took me completely out of the story and I think that's much of what made me not enjoy it.  I was also disappointed in the lack of details on this future world, the Reestablishment, and what was going on.  Still, I became invested in what happened to Juliette and Adam and Warren.  I may still pick up the sequel.  And I have to admit, hearing Tahereh speak at a Dark Days event (recap to come...sometime) I wanted to like it even more.  She was really relatable and funny and genuinely happy to be a YA author.  I'll be interested to read more from her.
-------------------------------------------------------


The Tower, the Zoo, and the Tortoise by Julia Stuart
Publisher: Doubleday
Publication date: August 2010
Pages: 304
Source: ARC provided by publisher
For: Review

Balthazar and Hebe Jones have lived in the London Tower for eight years, Balthazar working as a Beafeater.  But when a small zoo is placed in his care, his rarely simple job gets even more complicated.  Soon, he's juggling exotic animals, Tower secrets, and his own grief over the loss of his small son.  Will he pull through this adventure in one piece?

My thoughts: This is a quirky, charming book filled with odd characters doing even odder things.  It is very British, though I'm obviously not a great judge of something's British-ness.  The story itself was rather fun - Balthazar dealing with all of these exotic animals being installed in various locations in the Tower.  I often got distracted because there was a lot of unrelated historical facts and stories that were inserted at random times.  Some of it was interesting, some of it just felt like a distraction from the story.  In fact, it almost felt at times that the author really wanted to write a book about weird historical facts about the Tower, but wanted to disguise it as a novel.  I think what kept me reading was really the strangeness of the characters - and also to find out about Milo.  Definitely not like anything I've read in a long time.  This is an adult book, so it has adult language (one f-word) and other mature content.  
-------------------------------------------------------


Ripple by Mandy Hubbard
Publisher: Razorbill
Publication date: July 2011
Pages: 260
Source: Library
For: Fun
Series: Probably, this is Book 1

Lexi has cut herself off from friends and everyone she cares about.  She has a terrible secret, a terrible power.  Drawn to the water and to singing a deadly song, she must avoid killing again.  Because last time, she killed her boyfriend.  But when things suddenly change and her life might just return to normal, will she have the strength to make her most difficult choice yet?

My thoughts: I really liked the idea of this book - a siren who inadvertently kills the guy she likes.  It felt unique and different from most of the paranormal romance books out.  And it did have some original things, I think.  I liked how a lot of the book focused on grief and guilt and its effects on her relationships.  But there were a lot of small things about it that bugged me.  One of those things, the way the moon always seemed to be rising at sunset, is just the astronomy-major in me being bugged by something small.  I was also a bit thrown by learning that Steven and Cole were best friends, but Steven was a senior and Cole a sophomore.  Not that it isn't possible, but it was a bit odd to me.  Where were Cole's parents?  And I could kind of see the twist coming a long way off.  Generally, just not the right book for me.  Still, I think it will hold some appeal for fans of paranormal romance.  A note on content: language (one f-word), mature content: one scene in particular, and violence: a few grisly parts.

It seems despite my attempts to say less, I still manage to say a LOT in these "mini" reviews.  Do you like them more or less than my regular (long-winded) reviews?

If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Book Review: Vanish by Sophie Jordan

Vanish: A Firelight Novel by Sophie Jordan
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication date: September 2011
Pages: 304
Source: e-book from NetGalley

For: Review
Series: Firelight series, Book 2


*spoilers for the first book quite likely*
When Jacinda and her sister and mom return to the pride, she knows things won't be the same.  But it is worse than she imagined.  Her sister is no longer at home with her and her mother is unable to bear the pride's contempt.  Cassian and his cousin Corbin are both paying too much attention to her.  And most of all, Jacinda misses Will.   Will they ever see one another again?  Has she lost her chance at love forever?

Things I Liked:
I still enjoyed the family dynamics, though they kind of took a back seat in this book.  The plot was pretty interesting too, with enough action to keep me reading and wondering just where she was taking her characters and how they would get there.  I still like the idea of Draki and what they are, what they do, their mythos, etc.  It's an intriguing concept.

Things I Didn't Like:
Really, it just doesn't stand out in a crowd of paranormals, despite its unique type of creature.  I didn't really care what happened to Jacinda and I really wasn't fond of either of her love interests.  The plot was fairly exciting, but I just struggled to get through the book.  It will be enjoyed by those who can't get enough paranormal romance, but it just wasn't the book for me.

Read-alikes:
Read the first book, Firelight
Lots of other paranormal romances: Hush, Hush, Twilight, Mortal Instruments, etc

BOOK CONTENT RATINGS:
s-factor: ! 

maybe one or two


mrg-factor: none 
mostly it's kissing

v-factor: -> 
a little bit of action, but nothing graphic

Overall rating: ** 


How far into a series you don't enjoy do you go before giving up?

If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage

Monday, January 16, 2012

Listless Monday, Music Books Edition


Listless Monday was inspired by both Amanda at A Bookshelf Monstrosity's feature Books by Theme and Court at Once Upon a Bookshelf's Listed feature.  Be sure to check out their lists!

Listless Monday and Name That Book have kind of been on break for a while.  Not sure when I'll get back to Name That Book, but I did manage to get a new Listless Monday together finally.  Today's list is one that I'm hoping you will have suggestions for, since I don't know many books with a musical element. But, I know lots of people will!  Doesn't have to be a specific type of music or anything, just some aspect of music incorporated into the story.

Music Books

Audrey, Wait! by Robin Fenway
Bel Canto by Ann Patchett
Clockwork Three by Matthew Kirby
Countdown by Deborah Wiles
A Crooked Kind of Perfect by Linda Urban
Drums, Girls, And Dangerous Pie by Jordan Sonnenblick
Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John
For the Love of Music: The Remarkable Story of Maria Anna Mozart by Elizabeth Rusch
Harmonic Feedback by Tara Kelly
If I Stay and Where She Went by Gayle Forman
Just Listen by Sarah Dessen
Lament and Ballad by Maggie Stiefvater
The Musician's Daughter by Susanne Dunlap
Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
The Piper's Son by Melina Marchetta
Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly
Saving June by Hannah Harrington
The Secret Life of Ms. Finkleman by Ben Winters
Sing Me to Sleep by Angela Morrison
The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson
Struts & Frets by Jon Kovron
Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
The Vinyl Princess by Yvonne Prinz
Virtuosity by Jessica Martinez
We Shall Overcome by Stuart Stotts


Any suggestions?

If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage

Friday, January 13, 2012

I Actually NEED It 12

I Actually NEED It is an extremely irregular feature where I express my desire, or rather need, for certain books that haven't come out or aren't available at my library yet.  To learn about the reason behind the name, check out my inaugural I Actually NEED It post.

It's about time for a new year's post about books I NEED.  Here they are, taunting me with their publication dates:



The Agency 3: The Traitor in the Tunnel by Y.S. Lee
The Agency series is one of the few straight-up mystery series I've been able to read and enjoy.  So excited for more Mary adventures!  Coming February 2012.



Partials by Dan Wells
This sounds like an interesting premise for another dystopian/futuristic book riding the wave of popularity.  What can I say, I'm still addicted to them!  Coming February 2012.



A Breath of Eyre by Eve Marie Mont
Dropping into the pages of Jane Eyre?  Yes, please.  Plus, it fits so nicely with my Classic Double Challenge.  Coming March 2012.



Out of Sight, Out of Time by Ally Carter
I've slowly been sucked into the secret world of the Gallagher Girls and the last few in particular have been increasingly exciting.  Finally coming March 2012!



The Savage Grace by Bree Despain
Final book in the Dark Divine series, one of the few paranormal romances I've been able to handle lately.  Coming March 2012.



Seeds of Rebellion by Brandon Mull
I really enjoyed the first Beyonders book, and its a fun new series from the Fablehaven author, so yes please to this one, coming March 2012.



Black Heart by Holly Black
I'm also addicted to this Mafia-magic series and looking forward to the final book in the Curse Workers series.  (But what's with the funky cover? I totally prefer this one that matches the other two books.) Coming in April 2012.


Insurgent by Veronica Roth
One of my fave dystopians from last year has a sequel?  Well, of course it does!  Anxiously awaiting May 2012!


The Drowned Cities by Paolo Bacigalupi
This book is considered a companion to Ship Breaker (which, in and of itself makes it more desirable to me than a straight-up sequel).  I'm certainly hoping we get a little more Tool in this book!  Coming May 2012.



Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore
Yeah, everyone has already talked about this one, but just in case you missed it, the last in the sorta-series with Graceling and Fire, two fabulous fantasy books.  Finally coming May 2012.

What books do you NEED this year?

If you buy through my Amazon linkage, I will get a very small percentage
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Copyright © melissa of One Librarian's Book Reviews 2008-2015